AU professor involved in shaping Denmark’s export showcase

A new export hall of fame is to identify Denmark’s leading global enterprises. The initiative is the brainchild of the Danish Trade and Investment Ministry, and AU professor Philipp Schröder has been selected to join the ‘hall of fame committee’, whose members also include the presidents of the Confederation of Danish Industry (DI) and The Danish Chamber of Commerce.

Under a new initiative from the Danish Ministry of Trade and Investment, Denmark is to have an export hall of fame that highlights the most inspiring success stories about Denmark as an exporter.

“The export hall of fame is to turn the spotlight on some of the individuals and enterprises that cultivate markets all over the world, selling Danish goods and services and ensuring that there is plenty of work for Denmark to do. The intention is to inspire other companies to follow suit and take on the export challenge. We want to highlight a collection of success stories, because we need more of the same in the coming years – particularly on the new growth markets,” explains Pia Olsen Dyhr, Danish Minister for Trade and Investment.

The minister has assembled a ‘hall of fame committee’, which is to work with the think tank Mandag Morgen to identify up to 30 of the biggest Danish export successes of recent times. One of the members of the committee is Professor Philipp Schröder from the Department of Economics and Business at Aarhus University's School of Business and Social Sciences.

“I’m looking forward to working with the highly qualified hall of fame committee. When we take an in-depth look at the individual enterprises, I’m sure we’ll find some very interesting performance differences in their capacity to penetrate the global markets,” he says.

According to Professor Philipp Schröder, the new export hall of fame will function as a catalogue of inspiration and show many Danish companies how others have cracked the ‘export market code’.

The new hall of fame will be published in early September.

The hall of fame committee consists of: Lone Fønns Schrøder, chairman of the board and owner of Hummel and Thornico, Christian Stadil, CEO of Gehl Architects, Helle Søholt, Professor Philipp Schröder, Professor Per Jenster, Thomas Bustrup, President of DI, and Christian Ingemann, President of the Danish Chamber of Commerce.

How the new export hall of fame will be organised: 

  • Independent: The members of the independent hall of fame committee will identify what they consider to be Denmark’s 30 most impressive global commercial initiatives since 1989.
  • Clear criteria: At its first meeting in May 2013, the committee will establish clear criteria for the selection of the best export success stories. In this context, it will lay down requirements designed to ensure that different types of companies (measured by size) are represented. Similarly, there are to be requirements that the success stories selected are to cover different sectors and include experience from different export markets, including the new global growth markets.
  • Open nomination: In May–June, nominations will be accepted from Denmark and abroad, and may include companies, ambassadors abroad, business managers, public figures, researchers and students.

Read more and vote 

Contact information:

 Concerning research into the export sector:

 Philipp Schröder

Professor Philipp Schröder, Head of the Tuborg Center for Research on Globalisation and Firms

Aarhus University,
School of Business and Social Sciences,
Department of Economics and Business
T: +45 8716 4971
M: +45 3022 9123


Concerning the ‘Export hall of fame’:


Bjarke Møller 

Bjarke Møller

Editor-in-Chief at Mandag Morgen,
Tel. +45 3370 7106